Universidade de Lisboa (ULisboa) is the largest and most prestigious university in Portugal and one of the leading European universities.

Heir to a university tradition of over seven centuries ULisboa acquires its current configuration in July 2013, following the merger of the former Universidade Técnica de Lisboa and Universidade de Lisboa.

ULisboa brings together the various areas of knowledge, having a privileged position to monitor the contemporary evolution of science, technology, art studies and humanities.

The quality of teaching, research, innovation and culture of ULisboa attracts an increasing number of talents from around the world.

ULisboa is committed to strengthen its capacity for action and influence in international strategic areas, developing more partnerships with Brazil, China and the Community of Portuguese – Language Countries.


As of 2013, the University of Lisbon comprises eighteen schools and its research institutes:

  • Faculdade de Arquitetura (FA)
  • Faculdade de Belas-Artes (FBA)
  • Faculdade de Ciências (FC)
  • Faculdade de Direito (FD)
  • Faculdade de Farmácia (FF)
  • Faculdade de Letras (FL)
  • Faculdade de Medicina (FM)
  • Faculdade de Medicina Dentária (FMD)
  • Faculdade de Medicina Veterinária (FMV)
  • Faculdade de Motricidade Humana (FMH)
  • Faculdade de Psicologia (FP)
  • Instituto de Ciências Sociais (ICS)
  • Instituto de Educação (IE)
  • Instituto de Geografia e Ordenamento do Território (IGOT)
  • Instituto Superior de Agronomia (ISA)
  • Instituto Superior de Ciências Sociais e Políticas (ISCSP)
  • Instituto Superior de Economia e Gestão (ISEG)
  • Instituto Superior Técnico (IST)

It also comprises six specialized units, social and shared services, and the Lisbon University Stadium.