The University of Murcia (Spanish: Universidad de Murcia) is the main university in Murcia, Spain. With 38,000 students, it is the largest university in the Región de Murcia. The University of Murcia is the third oldest university in Spain, after the University of Salamanca (1218 AD) and the University of Valladolid (1241 AD), and the thirteenth in the world. The University of Murcia was established in 1272 by the King Alfonso X of Castile under the Crown of Castile.
The current modern University of Murcia was founded in 1915, making it the tenth oldest university in Spain among the modern universities, but its seal carries the date of the thirteenth century founding.
The majority of the University’s facilities and buildings are spread over two campuses: the older is La Merced, situated in the town centre, and the larger is Espinardo, just 5 km to the north of Murcia. A third campus for Medical and Health Studies is currently being built next to the suburban area known as Ciudad Sanitaria Virgen de la Arrixaca, 5 km south of the city. A new campus had been made in San Javier too, that hosts the Sports Science faculty. Another one, in Lorca, is expected to open in 2007.

Servicio de Relaciones Internacionales
Edificio Rector Soler – Campus de Espinardo – 30071 – Murcia (Spain)
Tlf.: +34 868 88 4074 – Fax: +34 868 88 8375 – internacionales@um.es